book online or call 071 9161518

iYeats International Poetry Competition 2018 now open!

iYeats International Poetry Competition 2018 now open!
21 May, 2018

The iYeats International Poetry Competition 2018 is now open for entries! The annual online international poetry competition has won a prestigious reputation for the calibre of both entrants and judges. The competition is open to all those who are sixteen years of age and upwards. There is an award of €500 for the winner of the General Category and €300 is awarded to the winner of the Emerging Category for those aged between 16-25 years of age. This poetry competition was launched by the Hawk's Well Theatre in 2009 to mark the 50th Yeats International Summer School and the 70th anniversary of the death of W. B Yeats.

This theatre has announced that this year’s judges for the iYeats Poetry Competition are highly respected poets Martin Dyar and Grace Wells.

Martin Dyar grew up in Swinford, County Mayo. His debut poetry collection Maiden Names (Arlen House), described by the poet Bernard O’Donoghue as ‘a thrilling new development in Irish poetry’, was shortlisted for both the Pigott Poetry Prize and the Shine/Strong Award. He won the Patrick Kavanagh Poetry Award in 2009, and the Strokestown International Poetry Award in 2001. He has also written a play, Tom Loves a Lord, about the Irish poet Thomas Moore. His work has been added to the Leaving Cert prescribed poetry syllabus and has been included in the anthologies Windharp: Poems of Ireland Since 1916 (Penguin); and Everything to Play For: Ninety-nine Poems About Sport (Poetry Ireland). Formerly a fellow in creative writing at the University of Iowa, and a writer in residence at the Washington Ireland Programme, he holds the 2018 Arts Council writer in residence fellowship at the University of Limerick.

Grace Wells’ debut poetry collection, When God Has Been Called Away to Greater Things (Dedalus Press, 2010), won the Rupert and Eithne Strong Award and was shortlisted for the London Festival Fringe New Poetry Award. Her second collection Fur (Dedalus Press, 2015) expanded the boundaries of eco-poetics, and was lauded by Poetry Ireland Review as 'a book that enlarges the possibilities of poetry’.

Reflecting the truly global impact of the competition; the 2017 winner was poet Tammy Armstrong, Nova Scotia, Canada, for her poem ‘The Varying Hare’. The emerging winner for poets of 16-25 years of age was Cynthia Miller, Birmingham U.K. with her work ‘The Last Hour on the Flight Deck’.  Previous award winning poems are available to read by clicking here

The closing date for entries into the iYeats International Poetry Competition is Friday 29th June (GM), at 4pm. As this is an online poetry competition, entrants can visit the Hawk’s Well website for further information on the competition terms and conditions and to upload and submit their entries.

Visit for further details.

< Back to latest news