book online or call 071 9161518

Sligo Sings - Christmas 2020

The Hawk’s Well Theatre recently delighted shoppers with a surprise ‘Sligo Sings’ Christmas Performance on O’Connell Street, Sligo. The theatre transformed the second storey windows of the famous heritage pub Hargadon Bros. into a stage!

Due to Covid restrictions ‘Sligo Sings’ could not take place in the theatre this year. The Hawk’s Well team were determined to keep Sligo Singing. In November they issued an invitation to singers to video themselves singing the Christmas classic ‘White Christmas’. The many colourful videos received from workplaces and individuals were combined to create a beautiful rendition of the song. 
The team from the Hawk’s Well Theatre quietly took to O’Connell Street; popping digital singers photos in the street windows, installing sound equipment and lights. At lunchtime Tuesday 15th December, Choirmaster Dave Flynn with Sinéad Conway & Luke Devaney appeared at the upper windows of Hargadon Bros. pub and performed White Christmas accompanied by the virtual choir to the delight of passers-by. 

Deirdre Melvin from the Hawk’s Well Theatre, “This was so much fun. It was lovely to open up the videos and see smiling faces in Christmas attire.  All of us at the theatre miss the buzz Sligo Sings brings each year. While digital will never replace the connection of live experience it was brilliant of so many people to take time to learn and record themselves singing White Christmas. We wanted to share their lovely voices with as many people as possible, in as safe a way as possible. Performing after lunchtime in the town centre provided the optimum way to maintain social distancing and enabled us to put on a show! Thanks to Hargdons Bros we were able to allocate one window per performer ensuring ample space for musicians to perform safely.” The recently widened footpaths on O’Connell street provided passers-by with lots of space to look up enjoy the music. 

We hope you enjoy! Merry Christmas!

Sligo Sings 2020 is supported by Sligo County Council.